Article Image
Fleming was one of the top scoring defenseman in the USHL last season.
Courtesy: USHL Images

Hockey Adds Fleming and Nitsche for 2013-14 Season

Courtesy: WMU
Release: 06/21/2013
Print RSS
KALAMAZOO -- The Western Michigan hockey program and head coach Andy Murray have announced the signings of Taylor Fleming (Waconia, Minn./Fargo Force, USHL) and Thomas Nitsche (Charlotte, N.C./Penticton, BCHL) to National Letters of Intent for the upcoming 2013-14 season.

Fleming, a right-shot defenseman, played two seasons with the Fargo Force in the United States Hockey League with a breakout season this year. The Waconia, Minn., native was an assistant captain and racked 30 points on 12 goals and 18 assists in 63 regular-season games. He also added eight points in the Clark Cup Playoffs as he helped the Force reach the USHL Championships, finishing as the runners up. Fleming joins his Fargo teammate defenseman Chris Dienes on the WMU roster for the upcoming season.

"Taylor is an outstanding student and we were excited when he made the decision to come to Western Michigan," said Murray. "He is a tremendous skater and will certainly add great mobility to our blue line."

Nitsche, a left-shot defenseman, adds some size to the blue line at 6-foot-3, 210-pounds. The Charlotte native played two seasons in the BCHL with the Langley Rivermen and the Penticton Vees. Nitsche was the captain of Langley this season prior to being traded to playoff-bound penticton half-way through the season. He appeared in 48 games total and tallied 10 points while helping lead Penticton to the playoffs. He becomes the third member of the Vees team to sign with Western Michigan. Forwards Sam Mellor and Michael Rebry also signed back in November.

"We followed Penticton a great deal because of Mellor and Rebry," said Murray. "We got a chance to see him play and once he became available we were excited taht we became his choice. He is a great student and will bring size and stability to our blue line."

Fleming and Nitsche join the incoming class of Dienes, Mellor, Mike McKee, Sheldon Dries, Aaron Hadley, Mike McCarron and Kyle Novak.