Article Image
Courtesy: WMU

Hockey Hands Out Awards at Annual Banquet

Courtesy: WMU
Release: 04/22/2013
Print RSS
KALAMAZOO -- For the second straight season sophomore goalie Frank Slubowski was voted the Rob Hodge Most Valuable Player as the Western Michigan hockey team handed out its team awards at the post-season banquet over the weekend.

The team, friends, family and alumni took time to celebrate WMU's season and its eight-man senior class of Brett Beebe, Trevor Elias, Mike Leone, Ben Miller, Nick Pisellini, Dane Walters, Ben Warda and Luke Witkowski and hand out its yearly awards.

Slubowski broke the single-season program record for goals against average at 2.00 and became only the second Bronco in program history to start every single game in the season. He finished with 19 wins and four shutouts, moving him into second with seven career shutouts.

Danny DeKeyser was also a repeat winner after being voted the Neil Smith Most Valuable Defenseman by his teammates. DeKeyser, who was also a Second Team All-American, First Team All-CCHA and the CCHA's Best Defensive Defenseman, helped the Broncos allow a program-low 78 goals on the season. He appeared in 35 games and scored 15 points on two goals and 13 assists. DeKeyser recently signed with the Detroit Red Wings and has already played seven games in the NHL.

Defenseman Kenney Morrison was voted the Suzanne Klop Rookie of the Year after finishing the season third on the team in scoring with 20 points on seven goals and 13 assists. Morrison was also a finalist for the CCHA's Best Offensive Defenseman award and was named to the conference's All-Rookie team.

Fellow freshman Colton Hargrove was named the Dr. Ed Edwards Most Improved Player by his teammates. Hargrove started off the first three months of the season without a goal and then exploded in the second-half with nine, to finish third on the team in goal-scoring. Hargrove finished with 10 points and was plus-six on the season, the highest plus/minus of any Bronco forward. He was twice named CCHA Rookie of the Week during the second-half of the season.

Leone was received the Catherine Lawson Sportsmanship award for his hard work and fair play throughout the season. Elias was awarded the Kalamazoo Optimist Hockey Association Grinder award for his grit and determination on the ice.

Chase Balisy and Walters shared the Vic Vanderberg Top Scorer award, both with 25 points on the season. Jordan Oesterle received the Bill Saunders Plus/Minus award for leading the team at plus-seven. Sophomore David Killip was honored with the Peter Ellis Academic Award for posting a 4.0 GPA during the season. Killip also has a 4.0 cumulative GPA in his two years at Western Michigan.

Head coach Andy Murray also named the 2012-13 captains, with Balisy being deemed the squad leader for next season. Killip and Will Kessel will be assistant captains and Murray said another assistant will be named after the summer.

All eight seniors are scheduled to graduate this Spring.