WESTERN MICHIGAN ATHLETIC BOARD
The Division of Intercollegiate Athletics at Western Michigan University reports to the Athletics Board. The Athletics Board is comprised of students, faculty and alumni who are appointed by the president of the university. The chairperson of the Athletics Board also serves as the university’s (FAR) Faculty Athletics representative to the NCAA, MAC, CCHA and, reports directly to the president’s office, the AAUP and the Faculty senate in order to assure that NCAA guidelines are being adhered to at Western Michigan University. The primary purpose of the individuals serving on the Athletics Board is to serve as an oversight body assuring institutional commitment to the missions of academics, athletics and student well-being. Student athletes are particularly encouraged and, welcomed to, express their concerns about the vitality of the relationship between academics and athletics at Western Michigan University. The input of Faculty, staff, and other members of the university community is integral to the Athletics Board and its mission. All are encouraged to submit questions or comments to the chair.

Western Michigan University Athletic Board Members

Name

Term Expires

Fred Sitkins - Chair

June 30, 2014

Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering  
Work Phone: 269-276-3375  
Cell Phone: 269-998-9339  
Fax: 269-276-3353  
E-mail: fred.sitkins@wmich.edu  
   
Halbert Bates

June 30, 2015

Advising, Haworth College of Business  
Work Phone: 269-387-5964  
Fax: 269-387-5796  
Email: halberd.bates@wmich.edu  
   
Dr. James Lewis (Faculty)

June 30, 2015

Department of Human Performance and Health Education  
Work Phone: 269-387-2697  
Cell Phone: 269-760-2345  
E-mail: james.lewis@wmich.edu  
   
Dr. Charles Crawford (Faculty)

June 30, 2014

Department of Sociology  
Work Phone: 269-387-5292  
Cell Phone: 269-501-5175  
E-mail: charles.crawford@wmich.edu  
   
Dr. Susan Stapleton, Dean

June 30, 2015

Graduate College  
Work Phone: 269-387-8202  
Cell Phone: 269-598-0518  
E-mail: susan.stapleton@wmich.edu  
   

Scot Conant (Staff)

June 30, 2014

Student Recruitment Outreach Director
College of Engineering & Applied Sciences
 
Work Phone: 269-387-3272  
Cell Phone: 269-365-8328  
E-mail: scot.conant@wmich.edu  
   
Dr. Richard Gershon Dec. 31, 2016
Communications  
Work Phone: 269-387-3182  
Cell Phone: 269-598-9532  
E-mail: richard.gershon@wmich.edu  
   
Dr. Lisa DeChano-Cook June 30, 2014
Department of Geography  
Work Phone: 269-387-3536  
Cell Phone: 269-598-9532  
E-mail: lisa.dechano@wmich.edu  
   
Ex-Officio Members  
Kathy Beauregard

Ex-Officio Member

Director of Athletics  
Work Phone: 269-387-3061  
Fax: 269-387-3668  
E-mail: kathy.beauregard@wmich.edu  
   
Dave Corstange

Ex-Officio Member

Senior Associate Athletic Director  
Work Phone: 269-387-3096  
Fax: 269-387-3668  
E-mail: dave.corstange@wmich.edu  
   
WMU Athletic Staff  
Monty Porter  
Associate Athletic Director
Business Operations
 
Work Phone: 269-387-3090  
Fax: 269-387-3697  
E-mail: monty.porter@wmich.edu  
   
Jeff Stone  
Associate Athletic Director
Academic Compliance Services
 
Work Phone: 269-387-3082  
Fax: 269-387-3668  
E-mail: jeffrey.stone@wmich.edu  
   
Dennis Corbin  
Associate Athletic Director
Medical Services
 
Work Phone: 269-387-8106  
Fax: 269-387-3668  
E-mail: dennis.corbin@wmich.edu  
   
Amy Washington  
Athletics Staff Assistant  
Work Phone: 269-387-3061  
Fax: 269-387-3668  
E-mail: amy.washington@wmich.edu  
   
Student Athletic Board Members  
Eric Nederhoed June 30, 2014
2607 S. 28th Street  
Kalamazoo, MI 49048  
Cell Phone: 269-998-4229  
E-mail: eric.a.nederhoed@wmich.edu  
   

Ashley Hunault

June 30, 2014
5794 E. Jefferson Commons Cir
Apt. 208
 
Kalamazoo, MI 49009  
Cell Phone: 989-464-5166  
E-mail: ashley.c.hunault@wmich.edu