Article Image
Courtesy: GS Photo

Schroeder Named Ray Guy Award Candidate

Courtesy: Mat Kanan, director of athletic media relations
Release: 10/25/2013
Print RSS

KALAMAZOO, Mich. - For the second time in as many seasons sophomore punter J. Schroeder is a candidate for the Ray Guy Award given to the nation's best punter.

Schroeder is one of 85 student-athletes to be named a candidate for the award after being a semifinalist for the award during his true freshman campaign in 2012.

The Columbus, Ohio, native (St. Charles Prep) currently ranked 10th in the Mid-American Conference with a 40.2 per punt average with 60 punts through eight games this season.  Schroeder has forced 17 fair catches this year with 13 punts landing inside the opponents' 20-yard line.  His first punt of the year, a 62-yarder against Michigan State, ranks as the fifth longest in the MAC in 2013.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hal of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success. Learn more about the Ray Guy Award at

The Augusta Sports Council is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community. To learn more, visit

The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.