GYM MAC Champions
Article Image
Courtesy: Casey Spring

Western Michigan Hosts MAC Gymnastics Championships Saturday

Courtesy: Kristin Keirns, associate director of athletic media relations
Release: 03/22/2013
Print RSS

KALAMAZOO, Mich.- The 2013 Mid-American Conference Gymnastics Championships commence at University Arena Saturday, March 23, at 2:05 p.m.

This will be Western Michigan's first time hosting the meet since 2006, which was also the Broncos' last MAC title. The championship meet rotates year-to-year between the seven conference schools that carry gymnastics.

Unlike traditional dual (two team) or even quadrangular (four team) meets, the MAC Championships will have seven rotations. Four teams compete - one on each apparatus - during every rotation while three teams will be on a bye and sit out that round. The Championship awards ceremony will follow the meet with individual event winners on vault, bars, beam and floor honored along with an all-around champion.

Western Michigan has a bye in the first round Saturday, then begins competition on the balance beam in the second rotation and then on floor exercise in the third rotation. The Broncos have another bye in the fourth rotation and heads to the vault in the fifth. WMU has its last bye in the sixth rotation and finishes the meet on uneven bars in the seventh.

Western Michigan will be chasing its fourth title in school history and its second MAC Championship in the last eight years. The Broncos’ last championship came in 2006. Former Bronco head coach and current Athletic Director Kathy Beauregard led WMU to back-to-back titles in 1986 and 1987.

Historically speaking, Central Michigan and Kent State have been the front-runners in the conference with 13 and 11 titles, respectively. Western Michigan and Bowling Green tie for the second most titles with three apiece, while Ball State and Eastern Michigan have each won once. Northern Illinois has yet to reach the top of the podium. The host team of the championships has had the upper hand in recent years. Since 2001 the host school has claimed the team title in seven of 12 years.

Western Michigan had four different individuals reach the podium and placed third as a team at the 2012 MAC Championships, hosted by Northern Illinois. Central Michigan took home the conference crown for the third straight year, totaling a 195.675. Kent State placed second with a 195.225, ahead of WMU's 195.000. NIU took fourth (194.525), followed by Bowling Green (193.150), Eastern Michigan (193.150) and Ball State (192.950). Western Michigan's 195.00 was the school's best ever score at the conference meet, topping 2011's score of 194.150.



Ball State
Overall Record: 6-11
MAC Record: 3-3
Regional Qualifying Score: 193.820
Highest Team Score: 194.500

Bowling Green
Overall Record: 5-11
MAC Record: 3-3
Regional Qualifying Score: 194.035
Highest Team Score: 195.175

Central Michigan
Overall Record: 12-5
MAC Record: 4-2
Regional Qualifying Score: 195.810
Highest Team Score: 196.125

Eastern Michigan
2013 Team Information
Overall Record: 5-10
MAC Record: 0-6
Regional Qualifying Score: 194.085
Highest Team Score: 194.675

Kent State
Overall Record: 15-2
MAC Record: 6-0
Regional Qualifying Score: 195.815
Highest Team Score: 196.250

Northern Illinois
Overall Record: 4-8
MAC Record: 2-4
Regional Qualifying Score: 193.860
Highest Team Score: 194.775

Western Michigan
Overall Record: 6-6
MAC Record: 3-3
Regional Qualifying Score: 193.980
Highest Team Score: 194.975