Article Image
Courtesy: Zolton Cohen

Broncos Set To Begin MAC Play at Home

Courtesy: Sean Fagan, Assistant Director of Media Relations
Release: 03/21/2013
Print RSS

Western Michigan Broncos (7-9, 0-0 MAC) vs. Eastern Michigan Eagles (5-9, 0-0 MAC)
Friday, March 22 // 1 p.m.
Kalamazoo, Mich. // West Hills Athletic Club

Western Michigan Broncos vs. Toledo Rockets (6-7, 0-0 MAC)
Saturday, March 23 // 1 p.m.
Kalamazoo, Mich. // West Hills Athletic Club



This will be the 44th meeting between the Broncos and the Eagles, with Western Michigan holding a 35-8 advantage in the all-time series between the two teams.  The Broncos have been particularly dominant over the Eagles in recent history, and have defeated them seven times in the past five seasons.  The last time the teams met was in last year's regular season finale, when the Broncos defeated the Eagles 4-3 in Ypsilanti.  The Broncos swept the doubles point from the Eagles and held on for three singles wins, with two of those singles winners from last year - Kathleen Hawkins and Jill Pastunink - returning this season.  Caroline Aleck and Maggie Remynse also recorded wins in their respective doubles matches.

This will be the 38th meeting between the Broncos and the Rockets, with Western Michigan holding a 36-1 advantage in the all-time series.  WMU defeated Toledo 5-2 in last year's meeting, which took place on a cold, gusty day in Toledo.  Maggie Remynse improved her team-best singles record in conference play with a 6-4, 6-4 win over Lexy Pitt in the No. 3 singles match, and Nini Sujashvili earned a hard-fought win in No. 1 singles, downing Kelsey Anonsen 7-5, 2-6, 1-0 (5).  Jill Pastunink and Kathleen Hawkins clinched the doubles point for the Broncos, beating Chrissy Coffman and Pia Rygh 8-2 in the No. 2 doubles match.


This weekend marks the beginning of conference play for the Broncos, and historically that has meant great success will not be far behind.  Astoundingly, the Broncos have finished in the top-three in the Mid-American Conference standings in each of the last 30 seasons of play, including 11 regular season conference championships, and have also claimed four MAC Tournament titles since 1999 as well.