Article Image
Courtesy: Zolton Cohen

Men's Tennis Picked To Repeat As MAC Champs

Courtesy: Sean Fagan, Assistant Director of Media Relations
Release: 03/08/2013
Print RSS
CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference announced today the results of its preseason men's tennis coaches' poll, with the Western Michigan Broncos predicted to win the MAC regular season title and repeat as tournament champions.  The Broncos received 28 points in a weighted point scale, with first place votes counting for nine points, second place votes counting for eight points, and so on.

The Broncos all but two players from the 2012 team that won the program's ninth MAC tournament under head coach Dave Morin and made the program's ninth appearance in the NCAA Tournament.  Back in 2013 is last season's MAC Player of the Year Nadin Indre, as well as First Team All-MAC selection Ross VanderPloeg.  Also returning from last year's line-up are Aaron Wong, currently slated in the No. 3 slot for the Broncos, as well as Marc Shideler.

Western Michigan earned just three more points than the second placeholder in the poll, the Ball State Cardinals; the Broncos finished with 28 points, and the Cardinals earned 25 points.  Buffalo finished not far behind that pair with 21 points.

2013 MAC Men's Tennis Preseason Poll

1. Western Michigan (28)
2. Ball State (25)
3. Buffalo (21)
4. Toledo (15)
5. Northern Illinois (11)
6. Chicago State (5)

(total points based on 6 for a first place vote; 5 for second place, etc.)

First place votes: Western Michigan (4).
Tournament winner votes: Western Michigan (3).