Article Image
Courtesy: WMU

Three Broncos Named to Academic All-MAC

Courtesy: Sean Fagan, Assistant Director of Media Relations
Release: 05/22/2012
Print RSS
CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference (MAC) announced the 2012 Men's Tennis Academic All-MAC Team as voted by the league Faculty Athletic Representatives, with three members of the 2012 MAC champion Western Michigan Broncos earning a spot on the team.

Nadin Indre, Zeyad Montasser, and Ross VanderPloeg were all named to the Academic All-MAC team for the first times in their careers, in recognition of not just their on-court prowess but their classroom production as well. In addition to those three, Aaron Wong, Pablo Olivarez, and Simon Blomberg all qualified for the award and were named as Honorable Mentions.

Indre was named the MAC Player of the Year, as well as the 2012 MAC Tournament Most Outstanding Player and First-Team All-MAC, and finished the season with a 30-12 overall record in singles play and 26-17 overall in doubles play. Indre went 5-0 overall during the conference, clinching the Broncos' 4-3 win over Northern Illinois in the semifinals and contributing a pair of wins in the 4-0 win over Buffalo in the finals.

Montasser tied his career-best singles record with a 23-18 record, going 9-2 in Nos. 2/3 singles combined. He was named Second-Team All-MAC and was named to the 2012 MAC All-Tournament team after he posted an undefeated mark in the tournament. Montasser provided a seven-match win streak for the Broncos down the stretch as the team won six straight team matches on the way to the NCAA Tournament.

VanderPloeg ranked second on the team with a 26-12 singles record, including a perfect 5-0 record in conference play and a 12-match win streak in the middle of the season. VanderPloeg tied Indre for total wins on the season with 56. VanderPloeg led the Broncos in doubles play with a 30-11 overall record, including a 13-7 mark when playing at No. 1 doubles.

2012 Men's Tennis Academic All-MAC Team

Dalton Albertin, Ball State, Junior, Exercise Science/Sports Administration, 3.80 GPA, Indianapolis, Ind.
Zane Smith, Ball State, Senior, Business Administration, 3.80 GPA, Greenwood, Ind.
Wojciech Starakiewicz, Buffalo, Senior, Communication, 3.86 PGA, Warsaw, Poland
Nadin Indre, Western Michigan, Sophomore, Business, 3.70 GPA, Satu Mare, Romania
Zeyad Montasser, Western Michigan, Senior, Master of Business Administration, 3.38 GPA, Cairo, Egypt
Ross VanderPloeg, Western Michigan, Junior, Interdisciplinary Health Services, 3.75 GPA, Holland, Mich.

2012 Honorable Mention

Yevgeniy Jason Shkodnik, Buffalo
Dor Amir, Northern Illinois
Benjamin Brocker, Toledo
Bryant Dudzik, Toledo
Leo Sarria, Toledo
Terence Weigand, Toledo
Simon Blomberg, Western Michigan
Pablo Olivarez, Western Michigan
Aaron Wong, Western Michigan