Article Image
Courtesy: GS Photo

WMU's Iaquaniello Named Honorable Mention All-Mid-American Conference

Courtesy: Kristin Keirns, associate director of athletic media relations
Release: 03/06/2012
Print RSS
CLEVELAND- Western Michigan women's basketball player Maria Iaquaniello was named Honorable Mention All-Mid-American Conference Tuesday.

The redshirt senior guard averaged 13.0 points and 4.8 rebounds per game, while shooting 48.8 percent from the floor in her final season. During MAC games, she upped her scoring production to 14.1 ppg.

Iaquaniello finished the regular season ranked eighth in the conference in scoring and third in field goal percentage. She also ranked in the league's top 10 for steals per game.

The 2011-12 season was Iaquaniello's breakout campaign, amassing 389 points after totaling just 249 in her first three seasons combined. She was named MAC Player of the Week on Jan. 19 after leading WMU to back-to-back wins over Toledo and Ball State.


First Team All MAC
Alexis Rogers, Bowling Green, Forward
Brittany Hedderson, Buffalo, Guard
Tavelyn James, Eastern Michigan, Guard
Courtney Osborn, Miami, Guard
Tenishia Benson, Ohio, Guard

Second Team All MAC
Sina King, Akron, Forward
Jessica Slagle, Bowling Green, Point Guard
Chrissy Steffen, Bowling Green, Guard
Andola Dortch, Toledo, Guard
Yolanda Richardson, Toledo Center

Third Team All-MAC
Paige Redditt, Eastern Michigan, Guard
Natachia Watkins, Eastern Michigan, Guard
Kirsten Olowinski, Miami, Forward
Maggie Boyer, Miami, Guard
Courtney Ingersoll, Toledo, Guard

Honorable Mention
Taylor Ruper, Akron, Guard
Taylor Johnson, Central Michigan, Forward
Crystal Bradford, Central Michigan, Guard/Forward
Diamon Beckford, Kent State, Forward
Maria Iaquaniello, Western Michigan, Guard

All-Freshman Team
Jasmine Matthews, Bowling Green, Guard
Crystal Bradford, Central Michigan, Guard/Forward
Jessica Green, Central Michigan, Guard
Jasmine Bracey, Central Michigan, Center
Claire Jakubicek, Northern Illinois, Forward

Defensive Player of the Year: Andola Dortch, Toledo, Guard
Sixth Player of the Year: Jalisa Olive, Central Michigan, Guard
Freshman of the Year: Claire Jakubicek, Northern Illinois, Forward
Player of the Year: Tavelyn James, Eastern Michigan, Guard
Coach of the Year: Curt Miller, Bowling Green